2380, A.L. 1. . The bill would require a single license plate per vehicle rather than the current dual license plate (front and back) standard. My Solution to the Front License Plate Law Gears and Gasoline 1.05M subscribers Subscribe 1.3M views 6 years ago In Virginia, we're required to have a front license plate displayed at. draws on over 10 years of experience as a professional writer and digital publishing specialist. Compare over 50 top car insurance quotes and save. "Troopers stop vehicles every day for failing to display the proper plates.". The overall bill needs one more vote before moving on to the Missouri House. In plain language, both plates need to be securely fastened to your motor vehicle and an officer needs to be able to see the numbers clearly. Meritorious Service Medal license plates shall not be transferable to any other person, except that any registered co-owner of the motor vehicle shall be entitled to operate the motor vehicle. DMV.com is a privately owned website that is not affiliated with any government agencies. Applying for disabled parking access? S.B. A completed Temporary Third License Plate Application (Form 5429); and The $11.00 Temporary Third License Plate fee (includes the $5.00 license fee and $6.00 processing fee). The expecting mother will need diapers and bottles, but she will also need comfy maternity clothes to wear throughout her pregnancy or a maternity pillow. Replacement Plate Permit that allows you to operate your vehicle while waiting for your replacement license plates. The owner of a classic car who has a license plate issued by the state of Missouri that is more than 25 years old and whose year of issuance corresponds to the model year of the vehicle may register the plate as a Year of Manufacture.. We're in a terrible budget crisis, and having two license plates is a luxury we can no longer afford," Bartle said. Looking for personalized or vanity plates? Do you know where it is? Let your vehicle dealer or MO license office agent know that you have tags to transfer. portalId: "473996",
Aside from providing car owners with temporary driving permits, car dealerships do not assist drivers with the initial vehicle registration and license plate application process. But counting the. 1067 & 1299, A.L. All Rights Reserved. (3) A tab or set of tabs issued by the director of revenue when attached to a vehicle in the prescribed manner shall be prima facie evidence that the registration fee for such vehicle has been paid. Despite what you see on the road, The Missouri Department of Revenue tells us in legal language, Each such plate shall be securely fastened to the motor vehicle or trailer in a manner so that all parts thereof shall be plainly visible and reasonably clean so that the reflective qualities thereof are not impaired. The director of revenue and the highways and transportation commission may prescribe rules and regulations for the effective administration of this section. The Missouri Senate today gave first-round approval to a vehicle regulation bill that includes an amendment requiring only one license plate on the back of cars, trucks, vans and SUV's. Many people even purchase brackets that you can screw into the front tow hook location if your vehicle has one. All Rights Reserved. DES MOINES Law officers no longer would be able to ticket a driver for not displaying a front license plate on a vehicle as a primary offense unless the citation was issued in conjunction. The arrangement of letters and numbers of license plates shall be uniform throughout each classification of registration. Additionally, drivers must renew car tags in person if they need to provide the Department of Revenue with proof of paying personal property taxes, or if their license plates are not current. The primary purpose of license plates is so that law enforcement officers and witnesses can quickly and accurately recognize vehicles in the event of a traffic violation, crash, or other emergencies. Answer Man: Why does ex-state rep have so much security at his house/business on National? Those most opposed to front platesare owners of high-end cars who say it's an aesthetic abomination to puta plate on the beautifully sculpted nose of, say,a Maserati or a Corvette. SPRINGFIELD, Mo. The Missouri Senate today gave first-round approval to a vehicle regulation bill that includes an amendment requiring only one license plate on the back of cars, trucks, vans and SUV's. The measure was sponsored by State Senator Matt Bartle (R, Lee's Summit). Fulton is an expert insurance writer specializing in car ownership topics from car shopping and loan advice to insurance and repair guides. But, youll pay more to register that vehicle and the state will only give you one plate (youll pay more and get one less plate). The Missouri State Highway Patrol can pull you over if you dont do follow the rule. Change.org Uh oh. Let's hear from Jasmine Bailey, spokeswoman for the Springfield Police Department. your vehicle can not be ticketed for a violation of a license plate (E.G.-No Front Plate) law in Illinois if your car is registered in California that does not require a front plate. clicking here. After purchasing a new or used car, vehicle owners must obtain Missouri car registration plates and expiration tabs. Many collectors believe front license plates ruin the carefully crafted design of many vehicles. I've been driving around my new Camaro and just remembered I still haven't gotten insurance. Mercedes-Benz C 230K Sport Sedan Insurance Cost, Chevrolet Tahoe C1500 Hybrid Insurance Cost, Volkswagen Atlas Sel Premium Insurance Cost. What is the penalty for driving without a front license plate in Missouri? document.getElementById( "ak_js_1" ).setAttribute( "value", ( new Date() ).getTime() ); Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. So, you may have to drill the holes in your front bumper for the bracket. Furthermore, you are not allowed to transfer your license plates to another driver who purchases a vehicle from you. Do you need a front and back license plate on your car in Missouri? We're doing our best to get things working smoothly! The license plate on buses, other than school buses, and on trucks, tractors, truck tractors or truck-tractors licensed in excess of twelve thousand pounds shall be displayed on the front of such vehicles not less than eight nor more than forty-eight inches above the ground, with the letters and numbers thereon right side up or if two plates are issued for the vehicle pursuant to subsection 3 of this section, displayed in the same manner on the front and rear of such vehicles. Have I Overpaid My Sales/Use/Employer Withholding Tax Account? vehicle dealer will give you a temporary tag if you do not have license plates to transfer. Regardless, there are some real benefits to having license plates mounted to the front of a vehicle. The committee was made up of the director of the Department of Revenue or his or her designee, the
The License Plate Design Advisory Committee was responsible for determining the new plate design. The director of revenue and the highways and transportation commission may prescribe rules and regulations for the effective administration of this section. 2005 H.B. There are several common complaints that drivers typically make concerning front-mounted license plates. 70, A.L. The license plates on trailers, motorcycles, motortricycles, autocycles, and motorscooters shall be displayed on the rear of such vehicles either horizontally or vertically, with the letters and numbers plainly visible. Learn more with MRD Lawyers. March 10, 2021 By O. Kay Henderson. Get free quotes from the nation's biggest auto insurance providers. The other 19 require only one plate. I've had a great year financially and have decided to treat myself with a second vehicle. Special plates for qualified disabled veterans will have the DISABLED VETERAN wording on the license plates in preference to the words SHOW-ME STATE and special plates for members of the National Guard will have the NATIONAL GUARD wording in preference to the words SHOW-ME STATE. Hassle:Because of some of the controversies and complaints associated with having front license plates, more people are going to naturally try to skirt the laws, find a loophole, or ignore front license plate laws altogether. (1976) Held, there is no right to a particular license number. In the case of front license plate violations, the spectrum is quite large. 384, A.L. The exceptions. The exceptions include motorcycles, vehicles with historic Year of Manufacture registrations, and commercial vehicles registered for 18,000 lbs or above. With that in mind, when applying for new registration tags, applicants must submit the following paperwork: Drivers may apply for a temporary DOR license plate by sending the appropriate application form along with an acceptable payment method to a particular mailing address from the Missouri Department of Revenue. Subscribe to stay in the loop & on the road! There are currently twenty-nine states, including Washington D.C., that require you to have a front license plate mounted on your vehicle. Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the authors opinions and recommendations alone. Each such plate may be encased in a transparent cover so long as the plate is plainly visible and its reflective qualities are not impaired. You can clarify the timeframe required in which the fix must occur, how to get the fix inspected, and the final steps of canceling the ticket through your local law enforcement office. Advertisement In his note to the Southtown, Smolik included a link to an article about the proposed . If you live in Arkansas, the law states you only need one license plate. At worst, it prevents some of these systems from being as effective as possible. Fortunately, most license plate violations will not increase your car insurance rates. handicap parking plates if you have a disability. 1110, A.L. State ex rel. region: "na1",
NOTE: If you find your missing plates or tabs after ordering replacements, they will be invalid and you must surrender them to the MO DOR. (5) For those commercial motor vehicles and trailers registered pursuant to section 301.041, the plate issued by the highways and transportation commission shall be a permanent nonexpiring license plate for which no tabs shall be issued. Most states also require that you do not mount your plate upside down. Each such plate may be encased in a transparent cover so long as the plate is plainly visible and its reflective qualities are not impaired..